Friday, February 1, 2008

Iss Maharashtra ki toh...

January 31, 2008

H/l: No IT awards for state

Intro: Centre announces e-governance awards to be presented in upcoming function


From: Vrushali Lad

Mumbai: The state government's representatives need not book tickets or set aside time to attend the 11th National Conference on e-governance in Haryana next month. The Centre yesterday announced the list of winners for excellence in IT and e-governance in New Delhi yesterday, and Maharashtra state has drawn a blank.

Incidentally, the government of Maharashtra website proudly announces the state as 'Maha-IT Rashtra' and claims credit for winning the National Award for e-governance when the site was launched a few years ago. The list of winners announced also blows apart CM Vilasrao Deshmukh's claims of the state being one of the frontrunners in the use of IT for e-governance.

The major winners include the IRCTC for their internet ticketing programme, government of Tamil Nadu for the best website, Grapenet the project of Agriculture and Food Product Export Development Authority (APEDA), Ministry of Commerce and Industry and Tele Bhugtan, Madhya Pradesh for innovative usage of technology in e-governance.

Other winners are government of Haryana for Exemplary Horizontal Transfer of ICT-based Best Practice, Rourkela Steel Plant, Orissa in the Category- Exemplary Usage of ICT by PSUs and GOI's Ministry of Corporate Affairs for Excellence in government process reengineering.

The awards are presented every year in seven categories under three fields – Gold, Silver and Bronze – by the Department of Administrative Reforms and Public Grievances (DAR&PG) jointly with the Department of Information Technology, Government of India.

No comments: